# **Cardiologic Care IV Panel**

#### **Series Editors:**

## Betty J. Dong, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASHP, FAPHA, AAHIVP

Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Family and Community Medicine University of California Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine San Francisco, California

#### David P. Elliott, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASCP, AGSF, BCGP

Professor and Associate Chair for the Charleston Division
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
West Virginia University School of Pharmacy
Charleston, West Virginia

## **Faculty Panel Chair:**

## Toni L. Ripley, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS-AQ Cardiology, ASH-CHC

Assistant Editor
TRC Healthcare
Adjunct Clinical Professor of Pharmacy
University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy
Edmond, Oklahoma

#### TREATMENT-RESISTANT HYPERTENSION

#### Authors

## Steven M. Smith, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS, ASH-CHC

Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacotherapy and
Translational Research
University of Florida College of Pharmacy
Gainesville, Florida

#### Eric A. Dietrich, Pharm.D., BCPS

Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacotherapy and
Translational Research
University of Florida College of Pharmacy
Gainesville, Florida

#### Karen R. Sando, Pharm.D., BCACP, BC-ADM

Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice

Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy

Davie, Florida

## Reviewers

## Benjamin W. Van Tassell, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAHA, BCPS, ASH-CHC

Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacotherapy and Outcomes Science
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy
Richmond, Virginia

#### Scott Coon, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP

Clinical Assistant Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice St. Louis College of Pharmacy St. Louis, Missouri

#### S. Rochelle Sullivan, Pharm.D., BCACP

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Pharmacy Department
Department of Veterans' Affairs
Greenville, South Carolina

### THROMBOEMBOLIC DISORDERS

#### **Authors**

#### Susan Conway, Pharm.D., FASHP, BCPS

Professor
Department of Pharmacy: Clinical and
Administrative Sciences
University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

## Jeremy L. Johnson, Pharm.D., BCACP, CDE, BC-ADM

Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Southwestern Oklahoma State University College
of Pharmacy
Weatherford, Oklahoma

## Reviewers

## Toby C. Trujillo, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAHA, BCPS-AQ Cardiology

Associate Professor
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and
Pharmaceutical Science
Aurora, Colorado

#### Jennifer Dettra, Pharm.D., BCACP

Assistant Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice
University of Charleston School of Pharmacy
Charleston, West Virginia

## Sonal Taylor, Pharm.D., BCACP

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist/Anticoagulation Program Manager Department of Pharmacy Department of Veterans Affairs/Coatesville Veterans Affairs Medical Center Coatesville, Pennsylvania The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Cardiologic Care IV chapters:

## Anne L. Hume, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Professor of Pharmacy
Department of Pharmacy Practice
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, Rhode Island
Adjunct Professor of Family Medicine
Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University
Providence, Rhode Island

## Mary Wun-Len Lee, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Vice President and Chief Academic Officer
Pharmacy and Optometry Education
Midwestern University
Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Midwestern University
Chicago College of Pharmacy
Downers Grove, Illinois

## DISCLOSURE OF POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Consultancies: Shannon A. Miller (World Journal of Diabetes); Evan M. Sisson (Center for Health Hearts, Diabetic Living Magazine); Steven M. Smith (American Society of Hypertension); Patty Taddei-Allen (Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy, Journal of Managed and Specialty Care Pharmacy, Pharmacy Health Information Technology); Toby C. Trujillo (CSL Behrig, Portola Pharmaceuticals, Jansen Pharmaceuticals)

Stock Ownership: Patty Taddei-Allen (CVS)

Royalties: Karen L. Kier (McGraw Hill Medical)

**Grants:** Thanh-Nga Nguyen (Wyoming Department of Health [two grants], Wyoming Center on Aging); Benjamin Van Tassell (National Institutes of Health, Novartis)

Honoraria: Dave L. Dixon (Sanofi, Novartis); Vicki Groo (Bristol Myers Squibb, Pfizer, Relpysa Speakers Bureau)

Other:

Nothing to disclose: Craig J. Beavers; Diana X. Cao; Scott Coon; Susan E. Conway; Eric A. Dietrich; Katherine DiPalo; Paul P. Dobesh; Olufadeke Fariyike; Shannon W. Finks; Kisha O. Gant; Stephanie Gaston; Jeremy L. Johnson; Troy Kish; Jeffrey A. Langford; Craig R. Lee; Cassandra L. Legari; Su Wen Lim; Klara Manning; M. Shawn McFarland, Mary H. Parker; Karen R. Sando; Kevin Schleich; Kyle V. Sheffer; Jaekyu Shin; Jennifer Simon Dettra; Katherine Suk O'Neal; S. Rochelle Sullivan; Kenyu Tan; Sonal Taylor; Teresa Huong Truong

**ROLE OF BPS:** The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). BPS is totally separate and distinct from ACCP. The Board, through its specialty councils, is responsible for specialty examination content, administration, scoring, and all other aspects of its certification programs. ACSAP has been approved by BPS for use in BCACP recertification. Information about the BPS recertification process is available online.

Questions regarding BCACP recertification should be directed to:

**Board of Pharmacy Specialties** 

2215 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20037 (202) 429-7591