## Pain and Sedation I Panel

### Series Editors:

### Bradley A. Boucher, Pharm.D., FCCP, FNAP, MCCM, BCPS

Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives and Operations
College of Pharmacy
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, Tennessee

### Curtis E. Haas, Pharm.D., FCCP

Director of Pharmacy
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, New York

### **Faculty Panel Chair:**

### Amy L. Dzierba, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP, FCCM

Critical Care Pharmacist, Medical Intensive Care Unit NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital Columbia University Medical Center New York, New York

### **Pain and Analgesia**

### **Authors**

### Gilles L. Fraser, Pharm.D., MCCM

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Critical Care
Departments of Pharmacy and Critical Care
Maine Medical Center
Portland, Maine
Professor of Medicine
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, Massachusetts

### David J. Gagnon, Pharm.D. BCCCP

Clinical Pharmacist-Critical Care
Department of Pharmacy
Maine Medical Center
Portland, Maine
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, Massachusetts

### Reviewers

### Joseph F. Dasta, M.S., FCCP, MCCM

Professor Emeritus
Division of Pharmacy Practice and Science
The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy
Columbus, Ohio

### John Carothers, Pharm.D., BCCCP, BCPS

Critical Care Clinical Pharmacist
Department of Inpatient Pharmacy
Alaska Native Medical Center
Anchorage, Alaska

### Billie Bartel, Pharm.D., BCCCP

Clinical Pharmacist Sanford Aberdeen Medical Center Aberdeen, South Dakota

# Agitation in Mechanically Ventilated ICU Patients

### **Author**

### Joshua T. Swan, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS

Administrative Specialist 1 in Drug Information,
Formulary Management, & Research
Department of Pharmacy Services
Houston Methodist Hospital
Assistant Professor of Allied Health Sciences
Institute for Academic Medicine
Houston Methodist Research Institute
Houston, Texas

### Reviewers

### Stephanie Mallow Corbett, Pharm.D., FCCM

Medication Quality, Performance Improvement and Safety Officer/Coach University of Virginia Health System Charlottesville, Virginia

### Jessica M. Louie, Pharm.D., BCCCP

Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice
West Coast University School of Pharmacy
Los Angeles, California

### Nadia Ferguson-Myrthil, Pharm.D., BCPS

Clinical Pharmacy Manager for Critical Care
Department of Pharmacy
Montefiore Medical Center, Einstein Campus
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
Department of Pharmacy
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, New York

The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Pain and Sedation I chapters.

### Judy Cheng, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS-AQ Cardiology

Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Department of Pharmacy Practice
MCPHS University
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Department of Pharmacy
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

### Mary Wun-Len Lee, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Vice President and Chief Academic Officer
Pharmacy and Optometry Education
Midwestern University
Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Midwestern University
Chicago College of Pharmacy
Downers Grove, Illinois

### DISCLOSURE OF POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Consultancies: Stephanie Mallow Corbett (American College of Critical Care Medicine); Joseph F. Dasta (Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC., Phillips-VISICU, The Medicines Company, AcelRx, Otsuka America Pharmaceuticals, Mallinckrodt, Pacira); John W. Devlin (SCCM, Vizient); Joshua T. Swan (Ablynx)

Stock Ownership: Joseph F. Dasta (Merck, Pfizer, Abbvie, Abbott, ESI, BMS, Lilly)

### **Royalties:**

Grants: Mitchell S. Buckley (ACCP Critical Care PRN); John W. Devlin: (AstraZeneca); Stephanie Mallow Corbett (Health Resources and Services Administration, University of Virginia Colligan Quality Improvements, NIH RO1); Eric W. Mueller (United States Air Force); Joshua T. Swan (NIH/NHLBI, Ablynx)

Honoraria: Stephanie Mallow Corbett (SCCM, University Hospital Consortium); Joshua T. Swan (University of Texas-Austin)

### Other:

Nothing to disclose: Christina M. Agee; Billie Bartel; John Carothers; James C. Coons; Russell Dixon; Shawn E. Fellows; Nadia Ferguson-Myrthil; Gilles L. Fraser; Julianna W. Gachoya; David J. Gagnon; Sibusisiwe Gumbo; Christine A. Lesch; Jessica M. Louie; Hesham Mourad; Justin Muir; John Papadopoulos; Manish Patel; Mona K. Patel; William J. Peppard; Heather Personett; Jill A. Rebuck; Hira Shafeeq; Joanna L. Stollings; Matthew R. Wanek

**ROLE OF BPS:** The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). BPS is totally separate and distinct from ACCP. The Board, through its specialty councils, is responsible for specialty examination content, administration, scoring, and all other aspects of its certification programs. CCSAP has been approved by BPS for use in BCCCP recertification. Information about the BPS recertification process is available online.

Other questions regarding recertification should be directed to:

**Board of Pharmacy Specialties** 

2215 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20037 (202) 429-7591