Renal Critical Care I Panel

Series Editors:

Bradley A. Boucher, Pharm.D., FCCP, FNAP, MCCM, BCPS

Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives and Operations
College of Pharmacy
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, Tennessee

Curtis E. Haas, Pharm.D., FCCP

Director of Pharmacy
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, New York

Faculty Panel Chair:

Joanna Q. Hudson, Pharm.D., FASN, FCCP, FNKF, BCPS

Professor
Departments of Clinical Pharmacy
and Medicine (Nephrology)
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, Tennessee

Acute Kidney Injury

Authors

Linda Awdishu, Pharm.D., MAS

Associate Clinical Professor of Pharmacy & Medicine
Department of Clinical Pharmacy/
Division of Nephrology
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, California

Sheryl E. Wu, Pharm.D., BCPS

Staff Pharmacist
Department of Pharmacy
UC San Diego Health
La Jolla, California

Reviewers

Phillip L. Mohorn, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Critical Care
Department of Pharmacy
Spartanburg Medical Center, Spartanburg
Regional Healthcare System
Spartanburg, South Carolina

Wan-Ting Huang, Pharm.D., BCCCP

Staff Pharmacist
Pharmacy Department
UC San Diego Health
La Jolla, California

Continuous Renal Replacement Therapy

Author

Michael L. Bentley, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, FNAP

Associate Professor Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine Roanoke, Virginia Director, Global Health Science The Medicines Company Parsippany, New Jersey

Reviewers

Mary Vilay, Pharm.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice & Administrative Sciences University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy Albuquerque, New Mexico

Lauren R. Keslar, Pharm.D., BCPS

Staff Pharmacist Select Specialty Hospital Laurel Highlands Latrobe, Pennsylvania

Laura A. Siemianowski, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP

Critical Care Clinical Pharmacy Specialist Pharmacy Department Cooper University Hospital Camden, New Jersey

Dosing Considerations in AKI and CRRT

Authors

Soo Min Jang, Pharm.D.

Critical Care Nephrology Fellow
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
University of Michigan College of Pharmacy
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Bruce A. Mueller, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASN, FNKF

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Professor Department of Clinical Pharmacy University of Michigan College of Pharmacy Ann Arbor, Michigan

Reviewers

Mariann D. Churchwell, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice
University of Toledo College of Pharmacy
& Pharmaceutical Sciences
Toledo, Ohio

Kyle A. Gustafson, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP

Critical Care Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Southwest General Hospital
Cleveland, Ohio
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Rootstown, Ohio

The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Renal Critical Care I chapters:

Lynn Kassel, Pharm.D., BCPS

Assistant Professor
Department of Clinical Sciences
Drake University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Des Moines, Iowa
Acute Care Pharmacist
Mercy West Lakes Hospital
Clive, Iowa

Ralph H. Raasch, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Associate Professor of Pharmacy (retired)
Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education
Eshelman School of Pharmacy
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Jeffrey T. Sherer, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS

Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Clinical Sciences and Administration
University of Houston College of Pharmacy
Houston, Texas

DISCLOSURE OF POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Consultancies: Jason N. Barreto (Theravance, Inc., Grifols Worldwide Inc., Cempra Pharmaceuticals Inc.); Jennifer S. Blake (NMSHP); Erin N. Frazee (FAST BioMedical); Bruce A. Mueller (Baxter Dialysis)

Stock Ownership: Jason N. Barreto (Seattle Genetics, Procter & Gamble); Bruce A. Mueller (CVS [spouse or significant other])

Royalties:

Grants: Bruce A. Mueller (Theravance, Baxter, Merck, Astellas, NxStage)

Honoraria: Bruce A. Mueller (NxStage)

Other:

Nothing to disclose: Hassan Al Tomy, Linda Awdishu, Michael L. Bentley, Mariann D. Churchwell, Joshua DeMott, Jennifer Ann Gass, Payal K. Gurnani, Kyle A. Gustafson, Wan-Ting Huang, Soo Ming Jang, Lauren R. Keslar, Ishaq Lat, David D. Leedahl, Nathan D. Leedahl, Phillip L. Mohorn, Michael P. Moranville, Gregory J. Peitz, Russel J. Roberts, Laura A. Siemianowski, Mary Vilay, Sheryl E. Wu

ROLE OF BPS: The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). BPS is totally separate and distinct from ACCP. The Board, through its specialty councils, is responsible for specialty examination content, administration, scoring, and all other aspects of its certification programs. CCSAP has been approved by BPS for use in BCCCP recertification. Information about the BPS recertification process is available online.

Other questions regarding recertification should be directed to:

Board of Pharmacy Specialties 2215 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20037 (202) 429-7591