# **INFECTIOUS DISEASES II PANEL**

### Series Editors:

### John E. Murphy, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASHP

Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science Associate Dean University of Arizona College of Pharmacy Tucson, Arizona

### Mary Wun-Len Lee, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Vice President and Chief Academic Officer Pharmacy and Optometry Education Professor of Pharmacy Practice Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy Downers Grove, Illinois

### **Faculty Panel Chair:**

### Kathryn R. Matthias, Pharm.D., BCPS (AQ-ID)

Assistant Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice & Science University of Arizona Tucson, Arizona

### LOWER RESPIRATORY TRACT INFECTIONS

### Author

### Kayla R. Stover, Pharm.D., FCCP, FIDSA, BCPS-ID

Associate Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice University of Mississippi Jackson, Mississippi

### Reviewers

### Roger D. Lander, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCACP

Professor of Pharmacy Practice McWhorter School of Pharmacy College of Health Sciences Samford University Birmingham, Alabama

### Scot Walker, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, BCACP

Chief Executive Officer Prescribe Right Wildwood, Missouri

### Melissa Ruble, Pharm.D., BCPS

Assistant Professor Department of Pharmacotherapeutics and Clinical Research University of South Florida College of Pharmacy Tampa, Florida

### John Boreyko, Pharm.D., BCPS

Clinical Infectious Diseases Pharmacist Pharmacy Department Duke Regional Hospital Durham, North Carolina

### Sumanta B. Paul, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP

*Pharmacist* Bakersfield, California

### **RHINOSINUSITIS**

### Author

### Meghan K. Sullivan Felton, Pharm.D., BCACP

Director Center for Medication Therapy Management Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions Omaha, Nebraska

### Reviewers

### Michael B. Kays, Pharm.D., FCCP

Associate Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice Purdue University College of Pharmacy Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine Indiana University School of Medicine Clinical Specialist, Infectious Diseases Eskenazi Health West Lafayette and Indianapolis, Indiana

#### Kellie S. Rose, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP

*Clinical Pharmacy Specialist James H. Quillen VAMC* Mountain Home, Tennessee

#### Micheline Andel Goldwire, Pharm.D., BCPS

Associate Professor Director of Drug Information Services Department of Pharmacy Practice Regis University, School of Pharmacy Denver, Colorado

### Sarah E. Petite, Pharm.D., BCPS

Assistant Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice University of Toledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Toledo, Ohio

### Susan M. Holden, Pharm.D., BCACP

*Clinical Pharmacist* VA Boston Healthcare System West Roxbury, Massachusetts The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Infectious Diseases II chapters:

### Anne L. Hume, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Professor of Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice University of Rhode Island Kingston, Rhode Island Adjunct Professor of Family Medicine Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University Providence, Rhode Island

### Jennifer Le, Pharm.D., MAS, FCCP, FCSHP, FIDSA, BCPS-ID

Professor of Clinical Pharmacy Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences University of California, San Diego La Jolla, California

## **DISCLOSURE OF POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST**

**Consultancies:** P. Brandon Bookstaver (Rockpointe, Inc., FreeCe.com); Elias B. Chahine (Allergan plc); Paulina Deming (Gilead); Geneen M. Gibson (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, State of Georgia Department of Public Health, Georgia Society of Health-System Pharmacists, ACCP Infectious Diseases PRN); Hanna Phan (Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc.); Melissa Ruble (Florida Pharmacy Association)

Stock Ownership: Scot Walker (Apple, Merck, Pfizer)

### **Royalties:**

**Grants:** Lan N. Bui (Texas Southern University and Houston Methodist Research Institute); Wasim S. El Nekidy (The Kidney Foundation of Canada); Nicholas Lehman (Pfizer, Inc.); David E. Nix (NIH/NIAID Valley Fever Center); Sarah Petite (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists); Hanna Phan (Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Success with Treatment Research Consortium, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute); Melissa Ruble (University of South Florida College of Pharmacy); Kayla R. Stover (Astellas Pharma U.S. Inc.)

Honoraria: Elias B. Chahine (Merck & Co, Inc.)

Other: Mary L. Foss (Employment Pfizer [spouse or significant other])

Nothing to disclose: Joseph E. Blais; John Boreyko; Andrew P. Clark; Philip Chung; Christina J. Dewar; Gabriella A. Douglass; Rasha Abd Elsalam Elshenawy, Sr.; Miki A. Goldwire; Ted Hancock; Susan M. Holden; Vanthida Huang; Lulu Jin; Lamis R. Karaoui; Michael B. Kays; Janice S. Kerr; Roger D. Lander; Jennifer Le; Helen S. Lee; Tristan Lindfelt; Donna Lisi; Michelle T. Martin; Cody Null; LaDonna M. Oelschlaeger; Sumanta B. Paul; Polina Plotkin; Kellie S. Rose; Sean D. Stewart; Sylvia S. Stoffella; Meghan K. Sullivan; Evan Williams

**ROLE OF BPS:** The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). BPS is totally separate and distinct from ACCP. The Board, through its specialty councils, is responsible for specialty examination content, administration, scoring, and all other aspects of its certification programs. PSAP has been approved by BPS for use in BCPS recertification. For more information about the BPS recertification process, <u>click here</u>.

Questions regarding BPS specialty recertification should be directed to:

Board of Pharmacy Specialties 2215 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20037 (202) 429-7591