# Cardiology III Panel

#### **Editorial Board Liaison**

Judy W.M. Cheng, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS
(AQ Cardiology)

Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Division of Pharmacy Practice
Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health
Sciences
Long Island University
New York, New York

#### Authors

Paul P. Dobesh, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS (AQ Cardiology)

Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice

College of Pharmacy

University of Nebraska Medical Center

Omaha, Nebraska

Jo E. Rodgers, Pharm.D., BCPS (AQ Cardiology)

Clinical Assistant Professor

Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental

Therapeutics

School of Pharmacy

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Cynthia A. Sanoski, Pharm.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Zachary A. Stacy, Pharm.D., BCPS
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
St. Louis College of Pharmacy
St. Louis, Missouri

Toby C. Trujillo, Pharm.D., BCPS

Clinical Coordinator

Residency Training and Academic Affairs

Clinical Specialist, Cardiology/Anticoagulation

Boston Medical Center

Clinical Associate Professor

Northeast University School of Pharmacy

Boston, Massachusetts

Barbara S. Wiggins, Pharm.D., BCPS (AQ Cardiology)

Pharmacy Clinical Specialist, Cardiology

University of Virginia Health System

Clinical Assistant Professor in Internal Medicine

University of Virginia School of Medicine

Charlottesville, Virginia

#### Reviewers

The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors would like to thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Book 1 chapters:

Nicola G. Dahl, Pharm.D.

Medical Writer

Kanab, Utah

Karen P. Norris, Pharm.D. Overland Park, KS

### Chronic Stable Angina: Management and Prevention of Future Cardiovascular Events

Linda Gore Martin, Pharm.D., MBA, BCPS
Associate Professor, Social and Administrative Pharmacy
University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy
Laramie, Wyoming

James J. Nawarskas, Pharm.D., BCPS

Associate Professor of Pharmacy
Pharmacy Practice
College of Pharmacy
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico

#### **Chronic Heart Failure Management**

Tien M.H. Ng, Pharm.D., BCPS
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
School of Pharmacy
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California

Todd P. Semla, Pharm.D., M.S., FCCP, BCPS, AGSF

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist

Benefits Management

U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs

Hines, Illinois

Associate Professor

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

The Feinberg School of Medicine

Northwestern University

Chicago, Illinois

# **Cardiology III Panel**

### Arrhythmia Management: An Evidence-Based Update

Judy W.M. Cheng, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS
(AQ Cardiology)

Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Division of Pharmacy Practice
Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and
Health Sciences
Long Island University
New York, New York

Lynette Moser, Pharm.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor

Pharmacy Practice Department

Wayne State University

Detroit, Michigan

Theresa Jaso, Pharm.D., BCPS

Clinical Pharmacist

Brackenridge Hospital

Seton Healthcare Network

Austin, Texas

## **Peripheral Arterial Disease**

Judy T. Chen, Pharm.D., BCPS
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana

William E. Dager, Pharm.D., FCSHP

Pharmacist Specialist

UC Davis Medical Center

Sacramento, California

Eric T. Wittbrodt, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, BCPS

Medical Education and Research Liaison

Medical Affairs

Tap Pharmaceutical Products Inc.

Voorhees, New Jersey

Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy (formerly)

Philadelphia College of Pharmacy

University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

# **Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest**

Consultancies: Judy T. Chen (Advanced Pharmacy Concepts, Inc., Purdue University); Judy W.M. Cheng (Scios, sanofi-aventis); Paul Dobesh (Sanofi); Teresa S. Dunsworth (Medicaid P&T Board; West Virginia University Hospitals P&T Committee); Susan C. Fagan (Pfizer); Douglas R. Geraets (Organon-Sanofi, KOS/Dupont, Aventis); Stuart T. Haines (National Diabetes Education Program, PRIME Communications); Anne Hume (New England Research Institute, Pharmacotherapy Consultants of New England); Matthew K. Ito (CV Therapeutics); Linda G. Martin (Albany County Family Planning, Wyoming Medicaid Drug Utilization, Downtown Clinic – Laramie, WY, Wyoming Society of Health-System Pharmacy); Jean Nappi (Abbott, Pfizer; spouse or significant other – Cubist, Elan, Enzan, Ortho-McNeil, Oscient, Pfizer, Vicuron; Wyeth); Tien M.H. Ng (Abbott, Johnson & Johnson); Robert L. Page II (Astellas Health); Kerry Pickworth (Scios); Denise H. Rhoney (ESP Pharma, Inc.); Michelle M. Richardson (National Kidney Foundation, Agency for Health Care Research/Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Amgen); Jo Ellen Rodgers (Scios, GlaxoSmithKline); Joseph Saseen (Tarascon, AstraZeneca); Sarah Spinler (sanofi-aventis); Toby Trujillo (Scios, Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Aventis); C. Michael White (Scios); Barbara Wiggins (Scios, Aventis); Eric T. Wittbrodt (GSK/Adolor).

**Stock Ownership:** Katherine H. Chessman (Proctor and Gamble, stock owned by spouse or significant other); Stuart T. Haines (Merck, Inc.); Michelle M. Richardson (TEI Biosciences Inc., stock owned by spouse or significant other).

Royalties: Judy T. Chen (Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, McGraw-Hill).

Grants: Judy T. Chen (ASHP); Susan C. Fagan (Pfizer, Inc.); Stuart T. Haines (AstraZeneca); Anne Hume (National Library of Medicine, Bureau of Health Professions, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality); Lisa Hutchison (Pfizer, Ortho Biotech, Beverly Enterprises); Matthew K. Ito (Merck); Sharon LaForest (Roche, Inc., Scios); Linda G. Martin (State of Wyoming Department of Health Aging Division); Jean Nappi (Amgen, The Medicines Company; spouse or significant other – Elan); Tien M.H. Ng (Abbott); Denise H. Rhoney (ESP Pharma); Michelle M. Richardson (QualityMetric and Tufts-New England Medical Center); Sarah Spinler (AstraZeneca); C. Michael White (SmithKline Beecham, AstraZeneca, Upsher Smith Labs); Eric T. Wittbrodt (Ortho-Biotech, Centocor).

Honoraria: Judy W.M. Cheng (Scios Pharmaceuticals, Millennium Pharmaceuticals); Katherine H. Chessman (Pfizer); Paul Dobesh (Sanofi); Susan C. Fagan (BMS – sanofi-aventis); Sarah M. Gaffney (South Carolina Society of Hospital Pharmacists); Douglas R. Geraets (AstraZeneca); Stuart T. Haines (PRIME Communications); Matthew K. Ito (AstraZeneca); Theresa Jaso (Aventis); Sharon LaForest (AstraZeneca); Jean Nappi (Merck-Schering-Plough, AstraZeneca, GSK; spouse or significant other – Cubist, Elan, Ortho-McNeil, Wyeth, Oscient, Pfizer, Sanofi-aventis, Schering); Tien M.H. Ng (Abbott, Scios, Pfizer); Robert L. Page II (Biovail/KOS, AstraZeneca, Pfizer); Denise H. Rhoney (ESP Pharma, Inc.); Michelle M. Richardson (Amgen); Jo Ellen Rodgers (Scios, GlaxoSmithKline); Joseph Saseen (Sankyo Pharma, Forest Laboratories, Merck & Company); Evan Sisson (Aventis); Sarah Spinler (Bristol Myers Squibb, sanofi-aventis, GlaxoSmithKline, University Pharmacotherapy Associates); Toby Trujillo (Boehringer-Ingelheim, The Medicines Company); C. Michael White (Bristol Myers Squibb, Wyeth-Ayerst); Eric T. Wittbrodt (GSK/Adolor, Amgen, Ortho-Biotech, LP).

Other: Todd P. Semla (spouse or significant other employed by Abbott); Eric T. Wittbrodt (Tap Pharmaceuticals).