Chronic Illnesses I Panel

Editorial Board Liaison

Lisa C. Hutchison, Pharm.D., MPH, FCCP, BCPS

Associate Professor
Pharmacy Practice
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, Arkansas

Authors

Bradley E. Hein, Pharm.D.

Assistant Professor

Division of Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences

James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

The University of Cincinnati

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Internal Medicine

Department of Pharmacy

The Christ Hospital

Cincinnati, Ohio

Meri Hix, Pharm.D., CGP

Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice

Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy

Downers Grove, Illinois

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Internal Medicine

Department of Pharmacy

Loyola University Medical Center

Maywood, Illinois

Brian K. Irons, Pharm.D., BCPS, BC-ADM

Division Head–Primary Care

Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

School of Pharmacy

Lubbock, Texas

Thomas M. Parker, Pharm.D., CDE

Assistant Professor

Departments of Pharmacy Practice and Pediatrics
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
School of Pharmacy and School of Medicine
Amarillo, Texas

Patricia R. Wigle, Pharm.D., BCPS

Associate Professor

Division of Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences

James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

The University of Cincinnati

Cincinnati, Ohio

Reviewers

The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Book 11, Chronic Illnesses I chapters:

Mary C. Gurnee, Pharm.D. Pharmacist Consultant Overland Park, Kansas

Karen Norris, Pharm.D. Overland Park, Kansas

Diabetes in Children and Adolescents

Katherine Hammond Chessman, Pharm.D., FCCP,
BCPS, BCNSP
Professor

Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcome Sciences
Pediatric Pharmacy Practice Residency Program Director
South Carolina College of Pharmacy
Medical University of South Carolina Campus
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Pediatrics/Pediatric Surgery
MUSC Children's Hospital
Charleston, South Carolina

Lisa M. Lubsch, Pharm.D., AE-C

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

School of Pharmacy

Edwardsville, Illinois

Pediatric Clinical Pharmacy Specialist

Department of Pharmacy Services

SSM Cardinal Glennon Children's Medical Center

St. Louis, Missouri

Kelly S. Thomas, Pharm.D., BCPS, CDE
Residency Program Director, Education/Quality
Management
Department of Pharmacy
Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System
Little Rock, Arkansas

Management of Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathic Pain

Karen A. Tisdel, Pharm.D., BCPS, CDE, CCRC

Clinical Pharmacotherapy Specialist

Diabetes Health Center

McGuire VA Medical Center

Richmond, Virginia

Chronic Illnesses I Panel

Emilie L. Karpiuk, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCOP

Oncology Pharmacist

Department of Pharmacy

Froedtert Hospital

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Diabetic Nephropathy

Renee M. DeHart, Pharm.D., BCPS

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Administrative

Affairs

College of Pharmacy

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Little Rock, Arkansas

Todd P. Semla, Pharm.D., M.S., FCCP, BCPS, AGSF

Clinical Pharmacy Specialist

VACO Pharmacy Benefits Management Service

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Hines, Illinois

Associate Professor

Departments of Medicine and Psychiatry and Behavioral

Sciences

The Feinberg School of Medicine

Northwestern University

Chicago, Illinois

Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest

Consultancies: Susan Bruce (Bristol-Myers Squibb); Judy W.M. Cheng (Scios Pharmaceuticals, Sanofi-Aventis); Meri Hix (Ortho-McNeil-Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc.); Anne Hume (New England Research Institute, Pharmacotherapy Consultants of New England); Lisa C. Hutchison (Arkansas Medicaid); Linda G. Martin (Laramie Reproductive Health, Wyoming Medicaid Drug Utilization, Downtown Clinic—Laramie, Wyoming, Wyoming Society of Health-System Pharmacy); David Parra (Veterans Affairs); Jayne Pawasauskas (Inflexxion, Inc.); Michelle M. Richardson (National Kidney Foundation, Agency for Health Care Research [AHRQ]/Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Amgen); Eric Schneider (eDocAmerica, National Association of Boards of Pharmacy); Tracey Taveira (Crowe & Mulvey)

Stock Ownership: Eric Boyce (Bristol-Myers, Procter & Gamble, stock owned by spouse or significant other); Katherine H. Chessman (Procter & Gamble, stock owned by spouse or significant other); Lisa C. Hutchison (Cardinal Health); Michelle M. Richardson (TEI Biosciences Inc., stock owned by spouse or significant other)

Royalties: Lisa C. Hutchison (ASHP)

Grants: Christina Aquilante (Tibotec Therapeutics, American Heart Association, National Institutes of Health); Manisha Bajwa (ASHP); Jason Hawkins (MSI, Pfizer, Novartis); Anne Hume (National Library of Medicine, Bureau of Health Professions, AHRQ); Lisa C. Hutchison (Boehringer Ingelheim, NIH); Linda G. Martin (State of Wyoming Department of Health, Aging Division); Michelle M. Richardson (NIDDK); Tracey Taveira (ACCP, University of Rhode Island Foundation); Patricia Wigle (Novartis, Health-UC; two grants)

Honoraria: Manisha Bajwa (Eastern Shore Area Health Education Center); Susan Bruce (Bristol-Myers Squibb); Judy W.M. Cheng (Scios Pharmaceuticals, Millennium Pharmaceuticals); Katherine H. Chessman (Pfizer); Meri Hix (Ortho-McNeil-Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc.); Brian Irons (Novartis Pharmaceuticals, two honoraria); David Parra (American College of Cardiology Foundation); Jayne Pawasauskas (Ortho-McNeil-Janssen); Patricia Powell (Professional Education Services Group); Michelle M. Richardson (Amgen); J. Mark Ruscin (Watson Pharmaceuticals); Tracey Taveira (Rhode Island Pharmacist Association)

Other: Todd P. Semla (spouse or significant other employed by Abbott)

Nothing to Disclose: Clarence Chant, Renee DeHart, Candice Garwood, Bradley Hein, Christopher Herndon, Adam Jackson, Emilie Karpiuk, Lisa Lubsch, Kristin Meyer, Thomas Parker, Michael Saracino (New Hampshire Pharmacist Association); Beth Resman-Targoff, Cheryl Sadowski, Kelly S. Thomas, Karen Tisdel, Joseph Vande Griende