Chronic Illnesses II

Series Editors:

John E. Murphy, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASHP
Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science
Associate Dean for Academic and Professional Affairs
University of Arizona College of Pharmacy
Tucson, Arizona

Mary Wun-Len Lee, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS
Vice President and Chief Academic Officer
Pharmacy and Health Sciences Education
Midwestern University
Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Midwestern University
Chicago College of Pharmacy
Downers Grove, Illinois

Faculty Panel Chair

Susan P. Bruce, Pharm.D., BCPS

Chair and Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice

Northeast Ohio Medical University

Rootstown, Ohio

Myelodysplastic Syndromes

Authors

Kristen B. McCullough, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCOP Hematology/Oncology Clinical Pharmacist Department of Pharmacy Services Mayo Clinic Rochester, Minnesota

Julianna Merten, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCOP
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy
College of Medicine
Oncology Pharmacy Residency
Assistant Program Director
Department of Pharmacy Services
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota

Reviewers

Judith A. Smith, Pharm.D., BCOP, CPHQ, FCCP, FISOPP Associate Professor Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences Division of Gynecologic Oncology UT Health Medical School at Houston Houston, Texas G. Ola Adejuwon, Pharm.D., BCPS Clinical Pharmacy Manager Department of Pharmacy Services North Cypress Medical Center Cypress, Texas

Leslie A. Hamilton, Pharm.D., BCPS

Assistant Professor

Department of Clinical Pharmacy
University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy
Knoxville, Tennessee

CHRONIC MYELOID LEUKEMIA

Author

Marc A. Earl, Pharm.D., BCOP
Assistant Director of Pharmacy
Department of Pharmacy
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewers

David S. Bateshansky, Pharm.D., BCPS Clinical Pharmacist Ambulatory Pharmacy University of Southern California Kenneth Norris Jr. Cancer Hospital Los Angeles, California

Ulfat Usta, Pharm.D., BCNS, BCPS

AUBMC Pharmacy Director

Beirut, Lebanon

PHARMACOLOGY OF NEW TARGETED THERAPIES

Author

Salvatore M. Bottiglieri, Pharm.D., BCOP

Clinical Oncology Pharmacist

Infusion Center Pharmacy and Gastrointestinal Clinic

Moffitt Cancer Center

Tampa, Florida

Reviewers

Gabriel T. Bartoo, Pharm.D., BCOP, BCPS

Ambulatory Care Pharmacist – BMT

Department of Pharmacy Services

Mayo Clinic

Rochester, Minnesota

Kathryn A. Wheeler, Pharm.D., BCPS
Clinical Infusion/Oncology Pharmacist
SSM DePaul Cancer Center – Medical Park
St. Peters, Missouri

ORAL CHEMOTHERAPY

Authors

Margaret M. Charpentier, Pharm.D., BCPS
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, Rhode Island

Karen R. Smethers, Pharm.D., BCOP
National Clinical Pharmacy Integration Leader
The Resource Group
Ascension Health
St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewers

John B. Bossaer, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCOP
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy
East Tennessee State University
Johnson City, Tennessee

Kimberly N. Flynn, Pharm.D., BCPS Clinical Oncology Pharmacist St. Joseph East Pharmacy Kentucky One Health Lexington, Kentucky The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Chronic Illnesses II chapters:

Jeffrey T. Sherer, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS

Clinical Associate Professor

Department of Clinical Sciences and Administration
University of Houston College of Pharmacy
Houston, Texas

Emilie L. Karpiuk, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCOP Oncology Pharmacist Department of Pharmacy Froedtert Hospital Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Marisel Segarra-Newnham, Pharm.D.,
MPH, FCCP, BCPS
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Infectious Diseases
Pharmacy Service
Veterans Affairs Medical Center
West Palm Beach, Florida
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
University of Florida College of Pharmacy
Gainesville, Florida

DISCLOSURE OF POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Consultancies: Marc Earl (Amgen); Jessica Farrell (American College of Rheumatology/Association of Rheumatology Health Professionals, Scleroderma Foundation, Consortium of Rheumatology Researchers of North America); Sheryl J. Herner (American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety, Colorado Pharmacists Society, American College of Clinical Pharmacy, Pharmacy Quality Alliance); Julianna A. Merten (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, American College of Clinical Pharmacy); Amy Barton Pai (National Kidney Disease Education Program, American Society of Nephrology Dialysis Advisory Group, New York State Chronic Kidney Disease Coalition); Judith A. Smith (AdvoCare's Scientific & Medical Advisory Board); Sarah A. Spinler (Bristol-Myers Squibb, Merck, Boehringer Ingelheim, The Medicines Company);

Stock Ownership: Cameron C. Lindsey (Walmart, Bristol-Myers Squibb, General Electric); Heather L. Minger (Walmart); Neeta B. O'Mara (Celgene [spouse or significant other]);

Royalties:

Grants: Judith A. Smith (BioNumerik Pharmaceuticals, ProStrakan Inc., UT System, Merck Medical Co., AMIPurdue, Amino Up Chemical, U.S. Department of Defense, Amino Up Chemical, Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies, NIH); Abigail M. Yancey (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists);

Honoraria: Marc Earl (Sigma Tau Pharmaceuticals Inc.);

Other: Neeta B. O'Mara (Celgene [spouse or significant other]);

Nothing to Disclose: G. Ola Adejuwon, Gabriel Bartoo, David S. Bateshansky, John Bossaer, Salvatore M. Bottiglieri, Mary Elizabeth Briand, Rachel A. Burke, Margaret M. Charpentier, Jennifer N. Clements, Kaelen C. Dunican, Diane M. Erdman, Kimberly N. Flynn, Jaime A. Foushee, Leah M. Frantzen, Steven Gabardi, Benita E. Galloway, Valerie S. Ganetsky, Leslie A. Hamilton, Tina M. Hamilton, Courtney I. Jarvis, Daniel Johnson, Kristen B. McCullough, Rima A. Mohammad, Megan S. Pickard, Christin Rogers, Karen R. Smethers, Lisa S. Smith, Michael A. Smith, Steven M. Smith, Ulfat Usta, Kathryn A. Wheeler, Tara Whetsel, Nicole D. White

Grants: Eric Boyce (Wyeth Ayerst); Katherine Hale (State of Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services [two grants]); Dawn Havrda (Pfizer); Michael Kane (Amylin Pharmaceuticals); Julia Nguyen (Kaiser Permanente); Daniel Riche (Chromadex, Inc., USHBC); Justin Sherman (CDC); Matthew Strum (NACDS Foundation, Pharmacy Quality Alliance [spouse or significant other]); Andrea Traina (Eli Lilly and Co., Abbott Diabetes Care)

Honoraria: Jessica Bellone (Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy); Michael Kane (Eli Lilly and Co.); Beth Resman-Targoff - Honoraria (APhA); Daniel Riche (Janseen, Boehringer Ingelheim, Merck); Matthew Strum (Abbott); Bobbie Williamson (Sanofi Pharmaceuticals)

Other:

Nothing to Disclose: Katherine Anderson; Miranda Andrus; Susan P. Bruce; Mary C. Byrne; Lisa Chastain; Jennifer Clements; Christopher Dennis; Marissa Dunham; Kaelen Dunican; Krystal Edwards; Michelle Ganoff; Benjamin Gross; Ashley Gunter; Kathryn Hurren; Kellie Knight; Janene Madras; Marianne Miller; Stefanie Nigro; Jessica O'Neill; Steven M. Smith; Dominick Trombetta

ROLE OF BPS: The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). BPS is totally separate and distinct from ACCP. The Board, through its specialty councils, is responsible for specialty examination content, administration, scoring, and all other aspects of its certification programs. PSAP has been approved by BPS for use in BCPS recertification. Information about the BPS recertification process is available at www.bpsweb.org/recertification/general.cfm.

Other questions regarding recertification should be directed to:

Board of Pharmacy Specialties 2215 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20037 (202) 429-7591 www.bpsweb.org