Chronic Illnesses III

Series Editors:

John E. Murphy, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASHP Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science Associate Dean for Academic and Professional Affairs University of Arizona College of Pharmacy Tucson, Arizona

Mary Wun-Len Lee, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Vice President and Chief Academic Officer Pharmacy and Health Sciences Education Midwestern University Professor of Pharmacy Practice Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy Downers Grove, Illinois

Faculty Panel Chair

Susan P. Bruce, Pharm.D., BCPS *Chair and Professor* Department of Pharmacy Practice Northeast Ohio Medical University Rootstown, Ohio

MANAGEMENT OF PATIENTS ON DIALYSIS

Author

Neeta Bahal O'Mara, Pharm.D., BCPS *Clinical Pharmacist* Dialysis Clinic, Inc. North Brunswick, New Jersey

Reviewers

Amy Barton Pai, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASN, BCPS Associate Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Albany, New York

Diane M. Erdman, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP, CDE, CPPS Clinical Pharmacy Manager – Specialty PGY1 Managed Care and PGY2 Ambulatory Care Residency Program Director Department of Pharmacy Kaiser Permanente - Georgia Atlanta, Georgia

Long-term Management After Kidney Transplantation

Authors

Steven Gabardi, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS *Abdominal Organ Transplant Clinical Specialist* Departments of Transplant Surgery and Pharmacy Services Brigham and Women's Hospital *Assistant Professor of Medicine* Department of Medicine Harvard Medical School Boston, Massachusetts

Christin Rogers, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS *Clinical Pharmacy Coordinator, Solid Organ Transplant* Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewers

Megan S. Pickard, Pharm.D., BCPS *Clinical Pharmacist, Solid Organ Transplant* Department of Pharmacy Baylor University Medical Center Dallas, Texas

Jaime A. Foushee, Pharm.D., BCPS Assistant Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy Clinton, South Carolina Clinical Pharmacy Specialist and Adjunct Faculty Member Family Medicine Residency Program Self Regional Healthcare Greenwood, South Carolina

BIOLOGIC THERAPIES FOR GASTROINTESTINAL DISEASES

Authors

- Rima A. Mohammad, Pharm.D., BCPS *Clinical Assistant Professor* Department of Clinical, Social and Administrative Sciences University of Michigan College of Pharmacy *Clinical Pharmacist* Department of Pharmacy Services University of Michigan Health System Ann Arbor, Michigan
- Michael A. Smith, Pharm.D., BCPS Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration Philadelphia College of Pharmacy University of the Sciences Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewers

- Lisa S. Smith, Pharm.D., BCPS Assistant Dean of Faculty Development Associate Professor of Pharmacy Wingate University School of Pharmacy Wingate, North Carolina
- Abigail M. Yancey, Pharm.D., BCPS Associate Professor Department of Pharmacy Practice St. Louis College of Pharmacy St. Louis, Missouri

The American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the authors thank the following individuals for their careful review of the Chronic Illnesses III chapters:

- Jeffrey T. Sherer, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS *Clinical Associate Professor* Department of Clinical Sciences and Administration University of Houston College of Pharmacy Houston, Texas
- Dale Whitby, Pharm.D., BCPS Managing Editor, Clinical Content Elsevier/Gold Standard Midlothian, Virginia
- Mary Wun-Len Lee, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Vice President and Chief Academic Officer Pharmacy and Health Sciences Education Midwestern University Professor of Pharmacy Practice Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy Downers Grove, Illinois

Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest

- Consultancies: Marc Earl (Amgen); Jessica Farrell (American College of Rheumatology/Association of Rheumatology Health Professionals, Scleroderma Foundation, Consortium of Rheumatology Researchers of North America); Sheryl J. Herner (American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety, Colorado Pharmacists Society, American College of Clinical Pharmacy, Pharmacy Quality Alliance); Julianna A. Merten (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, American College of Clinical Pharmacy); Amy Barton Pai (National Kidney Disease Education Program, American Society of Nephrology Dialysis Advisory Group, New York State Chronic Kidney Disease Coalition); Judith A. Smith (AdvoCare's Scientific & Medical Advisory Board); Sarah A. Spinler (Bristol-Myers Squibb, Merck, Boehringer Ingelheim, The Medicines Company);
- Stock Ownership: Cameron C. Lindsey (Walmart, Bristol-Myers Squibb, General Electric); Heather L. Minger (Walmart); Neeta B. O'Mara (Celgene [spouse or significant other]);

Royalties:

Grants: Judith A. Smith (BioNumerik Pharmaceuticals, ProStrakan Inc., UT System, Merck Medical Co., AMIPurdue, Amino Up Chemical, U.S. Department of Defense, Amino Up Chemical, Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies, NIH); Abigail M. Yancey (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists);

Honoraria: Marc Earl (Sigma Tau Pharmaceuticals Inc.);

- Other: Neeta B. O'Mara (Celgene [spouse or significant other]);
- Nothing to Disclose: G. Ola Adejuwon, Gabriel Bartoo, David S. Bateshansky, John Bossaer, Salvatore M.

Bottiglieri, Mary Elizabeth Briand, Rachel A. Burke, Margaret M. Charpentier, Jennifer N. Clements, Kaelen C. Dunican, Diane M. Erdman, Kimberly N. Flynn, Jaime A. Foushee, Leah M. Frantzen, Steven Gabardi, Benita E. Galloway, Valerie S. Ganetsky, Leslie A. Hamilton, Tina M. Hamilton, Courtney I. Jarvis, Daniel Johnson, Kristen B. McCullough, Rima A. Mohammad, Megan S. Pickard, Christin Rogers, Karen R. Smethers, Lisa S. Smith, Michael A. Smith, Steven M. Smith, Ulfat Usta, Kathryn A. Wheeler, Tara Whetsel, Nicole D. White

- Grants: Eric Boyce (Wyeth Ayerst); Katherine Hale (State of Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services [two grants]); Dawn Havrda (Pfizer); Michael Kane (Amylin Pharmaceuticals); Julia Nguyen (Kaiser Permanente); Daniel Riche (Chromadex, Inc., USHBC); Justin Sherman (CDC); Matthew Strum (NACDS Foundation, Pharmacy Quality Alliance [spouse or significant other]); Andrea Traina (Eli Lilly and Co., Abbott Diabetes Care)
- Honoraria: Jessica Bellone (Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy); Michael Kane (Eli Lilly and Co.); Beth Resman-Targoff - Honoraria (APhA); Daniel Riche (Janseen, Boehringer Ingelheim, Merck); Matthew Strum (Abbott); Bobbie Williamson (Sanofi Pharmaceuticals)

Other:

Nothing to Disclose: Katherine Anderson; Miranda Andrus; Susan P. Bruce; Mary C. Byrne; Lisa Chastain; Jennifer Clements; Christopher Dennis; Marissa Dunham; Kaelen Dunican; Krystal Edwards; Michelle Ganoff; Benjamin Gross; Ashley Gunter; Kathryn Hurren; Kellie Knight; Janene Madras; Marianne Miller; Stefanie Nigro; Jessica O'Neill; Steven M. Smith; Dominick Trombetta

ROLE OF BPS: The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) is an autonomous division of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). BPS is totally separate and distinct from ACCP. The Board, through its specialty councils, is responsible for specialty examination content, administration, scoring, and all other aspects of its certification programs. PSAP has been approved by BPS for use in BCPS recertification. Information about the BPS recertification process is available at www.bpsweb.org/recertification/general.cfm.

Other questions regarding recertification should be directed to:

Board of Pharmacy Specialties 2215 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20037 (202) 429-7591 www.bpsweb.org