# Paul F. Parker Medal American College of Clinical Pharmacy

## **DESCRIPTION and CRITERIA:**

The Paul F. Parker Medal was first awarded in 2002 to recognize an individual who has made outstanding, significant, and sustained contributions to improving or expanding the profession of pharmacy in an area of professional service. This award recognizes contributions—not limited to scientific research—that make the pharmacy profession significantly better and/or improve patient outcomes. The Parker Medal is the highest honor bestowed by ACCP. It is awarded to an individual who:

- Has made outstanding, significant, and sustained contributions to the clinical pharmacy discipline that have had a decisive impact on advancing the profession's patient care mission
- Has assembled a *lifetime* record (i.e., over an entire career) of contributions that further the professional role of pharmacists

• Is a visible and visionary leader on issues vital to the clinical pharmacy discipline The award is not limited to members of ACCP, nor is it limited to pharmacists.

Outstanding, significant, and sustained contributions can refer to many aspects of professional service, including, but not limited to, patient care, leadership, administration, financial, technological, information provision/processing, service delivery, models of care, advocacy, and so forth. Recipients are judged on professional services (using internal or external data) that have been documented to improve patient or service outcomes, create innovative practices, have impact on a population of patients, further the professional role of pharmacists, and/or expand the professional recognition of pharmacy as a health care profession. Judging is based on, but is not limited to, annual reports, publications (descriptive and quantitative), evaluations, professional and patient education materials, letters of recommendation, and other awards. *Emphasis is placed on having achieved a lifetime record of contributions*.

The Paul F. Parker Medal is conferred at the ACCP Annual Meeting. The award consists of a medal, a \$5,000 honorarium, and waiver of the registration fee for the Annual Meeting.

#### **SELECTION PROCESS:**

The Parker Medal Selection Committee is composed of 10 senior members of the profession, appointed by the ACCP President. Nominations consist of a letter to the Chair of the Selection Committee detailing the nominee's qualifications for this award and his/her contributions to the profession of pharmacy; the nominee's curriculum vitae, resume, or biographical sketch as available; and a minimum of three letters of recommendation. At least one of these letters must be from an individual outside the nominee's current practice locale.

Note: Current members of the ACCP Board of Regents, ACCP Foundation Board of Trustees, Pharmacotherapy Board of Directors, ACCP staff, or staff of any of the JCPP-member organizations are not eligible to receive this award.

#### Nominations and support materials should be submitted by February 15.

By mail to:	Chair, Parker Medal Selection Committee
	American College of Clinical Pharmacy
	13000 W. 87th St. Parkway
	Lenexa, KS 66215-4530

## By e-mail (Preferred for non-ACCP members) to: mmaddux@accp.com

Online (ACCP members) at: http://www.accp.com/membership/nominations.aspx

## PAST RECIPIENTS:

2002	Dennis K. Helling
2003	R. Keith Campbell
2004	Joaquin Bonal de Falgas
2005	William A. Miller
2006	Charles A. Walton
2007	Mary Anne Koda-Kimble
2008	Robert Rapp
2009	Milap Nahata
2010	Max Ray
2011	C.A. Bond
2012	Barbara G. Wells
2013	Robert M. Elenbaas
2014	Joseph T. DiPiro
2015	Robert L. Talbert
2016	Robert A. Blouin
2017	William E. Evans
2018	Barry L. Carter
2019	Julie A. Johnson

## PAUL F. PARKER:

Paul F. Parker graduated from the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy in 1949, and received his master's degree two years later under the mentorship of Donald E. Francke. He then served as chief pharmacist at the University of Chicago Clinics until 1956, when he moved to Washington, DC to become director of the APhA Division of Hospital Pharmacy. In 1960, Paul became director of pharmacy at the Chandler Medical Center/University of Kentucky in Lexington, a position he held for 24 years. His innovations included development of decentralized pharmacy services placing pharmacists in the hospital's clinical areas, as well as development of the nation's first pharmacist-staffed drug information center. Paul was an outspoken evangelist for pharmacy and the important clinical role of pharmacists in health care.

A hallmark of Paul's career was the clinical training of pharmacists—he was a true pioneer in clinical pharmacy. Shortly after becoming Director of Pharmacy at Kentucky, he established the institution's residency program. His vision for pharmacy practice was passed along to more than 150 residents who were educated and trained in the Kentucky program during his tenure. Those whom he mentored include many of today's leaders in clinical pharmacy practice, research, and education. In 1989, Paul became the only person to date to have been elected an Honorary Member of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy in recognition of his outstanding contributions to clinical pharmacy and therapeutics.