American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart
ACCP Report

2023 ACCP Clinical Research Challenge: Round 2 Letter of Intent Submission Underway

Clinical Research Challenge

ACCP is pleased to announce that competition is underway in the 2023 Clinical Research Challenge (CRC). Research and scholarship contribute to improved health outcomes for patients and advances in the profession of clinical pharmacy. The ability to critically evaluate and apply the primary literature is essential for students pursuing a career in clinical pharmacy.

This innovative and unique competition offers teams of three students (those in the first 2 professional years of their degree program) the opportunity to compete in and advance through three rounds of competition. The 2023 competition began February 13 with 87 teams participating in round 1: The Online Journal Club, which was based on the following literature:

Martínez-Mardones F, Fernandez-Llimos F, Benrimoj S, et al. Systematic review and meta-analysis of medication reviews conducted by pharmacists on cardiovascular diseases risk factors in ambulatory care. J Am Heart Assoc 2019;8:e013627. Available at, including ALL the supplementary materials at

Teams achieving the top 40 scores advanced to round 2: Letter of Intent (LOI) Submission. These teams were given a clinically focused research question with 2½ weeks to develop and submit a letter of intent following the criteria outlined here. The LOI submissions were due March 3, 2023, and are currently under evaluation by the CRC Review and Oversight Panels. Teams advancing to round 3 will be announced March 27. To view a list of the teams participating in each round of the competition, please click here.

Please join ACCP in recognizing and thanking the members of the 2023 CRC Review and Oversight Panels for their contributions and service to the College in advancing this important program for the College’s student members.


Oversight Panel

Sandra Benavides, Pharm.D., FCCP

Lori Dickerson, Pharm.D., FCCP

Doug Fish, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS-AQ ID

Anne Hume, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Irene La-Beck, Pharm.D.

Beth Phillips, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS


Journal Club Review Panel

Allison Bernknopf, Pharm.D., BCPS

Timothy Gladwell, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP


Review Panel

Brooke Bernhardt, Pharm.D.

Jacob Brown, Pharm.D.

Brooke Buffat, Pharm.D., BCPS

Kyle Burghardt, Pharm.D.

Daniel Crona, Pharm.D., Ph.D., CPP

Robert DiDomenico, Pharm.D.

Erika Ernst, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Elizabeth Hirsch, Pharm.D., FCCP

James Hoehns, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Michelle Fravel, Pharm.D., BCPS

Tien Ng, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Philip Rodgers, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

James Stevenson, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPP

Rebecca Stone, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP

Trang Trin, Pharm.D., MPH


For complete information on the Clinical Research Challenge, visit