American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart
ACCP Report

Voting Members Are Invited to Participate in a Special Vote

The 2024 Task Force on Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA) is charged to provide input to the Board of Regents (BOR) on implementation of the ACCP DEIA plan and on all issues relevant to DEIA. The 2024 Task Force is proposing a revision to the ACCP bylaws to include the addition of a new DEIA standing committee to Article V, Section 1. If approved, this standing committee will replace the DEIA Task Force going forward. This change to the bylaws was approved by the 2024 Organizational Affairs Committee in March and endorsed by the BOR in April 2024. Pursuant to Article II, Section 1 of the ACCP bylaws, after recommendation by the Organizational Affairs Committee and endorsement of the BOR, amendments to the bylaws are placed before the voting membership for approval. Amendments must be approved by two-thirds of the votes cast.

Rationale for This Change

To solidify ACCP’s commitment to DEIA efforts within the profession and organization, a formal conversion of the DEIA Task Force to a standing committee (i.e., DEIA committee) is requested. Although task forces are typically in place for finite periods to address short-term needs, the role of the DEIA Task Force is enduring. In addition to the overarching charge to “provide input and feedback to the ACCP Board of Regents on implementation of the DEIA plan and on all issues relevant to DEIA,” a growing number of leadership activities and routine processes are carried out by this volunteer group. The DEIA Task Force (1) reviews and scores applicants for DEIA travel awards; (2) evaluates, indexes, and maintains resources for the DEIA toolkit; (3) recommends relevant DEIA communications to ACCP; and (4) proposes DEIA programming for ACCP members, among others. To ensure that these essential ongoing activities are fulfilled, a standing DEIA committee is proposed.

All full members of ACCP are invited to vote. Voting will remain open through June 1, 2024, 11:59 p.m. (CDT). To cast your vote, click here.