American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - February 2013

Karr and Raebel Appointed to Ambulatory Care Specialty Council

Covey Appointed to Second Term—Thrasher Will Serve as Chair

Samantha Karr, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, BCACP, and Marsha Raebel, Pharm.D., FCCP, have been appointed to 3-year terms on the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) Ambulatory Care Specialty Council, and Douglas Covey, Pharm.D., MHA, FCCP, CDE, has been appointed to a second 3-year term. ACCP Member Kim Thrasher, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, CPP, was elected chair of the council for 2013.

The nine-member specialty council is responsible for developing and administering the ambulatory care certification examination given annually by BPS. Board-certified ambulatory care specialist members of the council are appointed by ACCP, the American Pharmacists Association, or the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the three sponsoring organizations of the ambulatory care specialty. Other council members include ambulatory care specialists Becky Armor, Tim Brown, and Cherokee Wolf. In addition to Covey, Raebel, and Thrasher, non–ambulatory care specialist members of the council are Peter Koval and Beth Phillips.

For information about certification examinations in ambulatory care, pharmacotherapy, nutrition support, oncology, psychiatry, and nuclear pharmacy, contact BPS at (202) 429-7591 or access the BPS Web site at