American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - June 2013

Fagan Named University of Georgia Distinguished Research Professor

Susan Fagan, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Susan Fagan, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, current member of the ACCP Research Institute Board of Trustees and a past ACCP Regent, has been named Distinguished Research Professor at the University of Georgia. Dr. Fagan serves as the Albert W. Jowdy Professor, assistant dean, and associate department head of clinical and administrative pharmacy at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy, and she was one of only three professors at the university to receive the title of Distinguished Research Professor this year. The honor is bestowed upon faculty who are internationally recognized for their original contributions to knowledge and whose work promises to foster continued creativity in their discipline.

Dr. Fagan is recognized as an outstanding leader in basic stroke research and an expert in stroke therapeutics. She was one of the investigators in a landmark clinical trial that led to the widespread use of alteplase as an acute treatment for embolic stroke. She is recognized by other scientists and clinicians as one of the few Americans and international leaders who continue to translate novel basic research into new treatment strategies for acute stroke.

Together with her research collaborators, Dr. Fagan continues to work toward establishing vascular protection as a strategy to improve the morbidity and mortality associated with stroke. Since 2003, her work has been steadily funded by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) and the Veterans Affairs Merit Review. She is one of only two University of Georgia College of Pharmacy professors to have ever received recognition as Distinguished Research Professor.