American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - June 2019

Oregon State University Team Crowned 2019 ACCP Clinical Research Challenge Champions

Clinical Research Challenge

Competition in the 2019 ACCP Clinical Research Challenge (CRC) began February 6 with 82 teams vying for a spot in round 2: Letter of Intent (LOI) Submission. Teams achieving the top 40 scores after the initial online Journal Club round submitted an LOI. Teams achieving the top 20 scores after round 2 were invited to compete in round 3: Research Protocol Development. Teams in round 3 were tasked with developing a research proposal designed to demonstrate the value of a clinical pharmacist in an area of endocrinology. Teams were provided with a specific research environment in which to formulate their proposals.

The proposals were reviewed by the CRC Reviewer Panel, and submissions ranking in the top-thirds were referred for evaluation and selection of awards by the CRC Oversight Panel. Please join ACCP in congratulating the finalist teams and the award winners.

ACCP Clinical Research Challenge Finalist Teams:

Cedarville University School of Pharmacy Oregon State University College of Pharmacy Southern Illinois University Edwardsville School of Pharmacy University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy University of Maryland School of Pharmacy University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy University of Michigan College of Pharmacy University of Toledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

2019 ACCP Clinical Research Challenge Awards:

Championship Team: Oregon State University College of Pharmacy

Proposal Title: HEDIS Measures and Osteoporosis: A Clinical Pharmacy Approach to Optimize Fracture Care in Postmenopausal Females
Student Team Members: Neda Kazerouni, Kaitlyn Wells, Dale Wilkerson
Faculty Liaison: Adrian Irwin, Pharm.D.

Second-Place Team: University of Michigan College of Pharmacy

Proposal Title: The Effects of the Pharmacy-Run Intensive Education in Diabetes (PhRIEND) Initiative on Hypoglycemia
Student Team Members: Joseph English, Joseph Haroney, David Schapiro
Faculty Liaison: Michael Dorsch, Pharm.D., M.S., FCCP, BCCP

Third-Place Team: Cedarville University School of Pharmacy

Proposal Title: Pharmacist-Led Thyroid Point of Care Testing and Management in Type 2 Diabetics
Student Team Members: Brianne Potter, Nicole Stute, Rachael Tollerton
Faculty Liaison: Zachary Jenkins, Pharm.D.

Fourth-Place Team: University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

Proposal Title: Investigating the Value of the Pharmacist in PCOS Patient Care
Student Team Members: Anna Dizik, Xinyi Huang, Bhavna Jois
Faculty Liaison: Kathleen Pincus, Pharm.D.

Teams with the top three research proposal submissions are invited to present their research design during a poster session at the 2019 ACCP Annual Meeting in New York, New York, October 26–29. In addition, each student member of these teams will receive a complimentary Annual Meeting registration. For complete competition information, click here.

Please join ACCP in recognizing and thanking the many ACCP members who helped advance this important program for ACCP student members.

2018 CRC Oversight Panel

Sandra Benavides, Pharm.D., FCCP Doug Fish, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS-AQ ID Anne Hume, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Irene La-Beck, Pharm.D. Beth Phillips, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Tiffany Pon, Pharm.D., BCPS

CRC Reviewer Panel

Scott Benken, Pharm.D., BCPS Jeff Bishop, Pharm.D., M.S., FCCP, BCCP Brooke Buffat, Pharm.D., BCPS Kyle Burghardt, Pharm.D. Robert DiDomenico, Pharm.D., FCCP Erika Ernst, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Michelle Fravel, Pharm.D., BCPS Jennie Jarrett, Pharm.D., MMedEd, BCPS Craig Lee, Pharm.D., Ph.D., FCCP Rob MacLaren, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM Ashley Meredith, Pharm.D., FCCP Tien Ng, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Phillip Rodgers, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Trang Trinh, Pharm.D., MPH

CRC Journal Club Author Panel

Kristin Bradley, Pharm.D. Timothy Gladwell, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP Jay Martello, Pharm.D., BCPS Dianne May, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS Jody Rocker, Pharm.D., BCPS Lindsay Slowiczek, Pharm.D.

CRC Journal Club Reviewer Panel

Erin Behnen, Pharm.D. Allison Bernknopf, Pharm.D., BCPS

For complete information on the Clinical Research Challenge, visit