American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - July 2014

Seaton Chosen ACCP President-Elect

Terry L. Seaton, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Terry L. Seaton, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, was chosen as the next ACCP president-elect in annual elections held this past spring. Dr. Seaton is a professor of pharmacy practice at St. Louis College of Pharmacy in St. Louis, Missouri. He has been a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist since its inception in 1991 and a Fellow of ACCP since 2000. In 2001, he was a U.S. Public Health Service Primary Care Policy Fellow. For 14 years, Dr. Seaton provided direct patient care, taught, conducted primary care–related research, and directed a specialty pharmacy residency in a community-based family medicine training program. His service to ACCP includes his roles as cofounder of the Ambulatory Care PRN (and subsequent chair for two terms), member of the Board of Regents (2010–2013), president of the local Gateway chapter (GCCP), member of the PAC Governing Council, presenter at Pharmacotherapy Preparatory Review and Recertification Courses and national meetings, author for PSAP (ambulatory care chapter) and Pharmacotherapy, and member or chair of many committees and task forces. Dr. Seaton has served the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) as a member of the inaugural Ambulatory Care Specialty Council (2010–2012) and on numerous Pharmacotherapy Item-Writing Panels. He has held leadership positions in other professional organizations as well, including the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, American Medical Informatics Association (chair of the Pharmacoinformatics Working Group), Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, and North American Primary Care Research Group.

Kimberly Thrasher, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, CPP
Sara D. Brouse, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS (AQ Cardiology)
Eric MacLaughlin, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS
Gene D. Morse, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS
Denise H. Rhoney, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, FNCS

In other election results, Kimberly Thrasher, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, CPP, was elected secretary, and Sara D. Brouse, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS (AQ Cardiology), and Eric MacLaughlin, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, were selected as regents. They will be installed at the 2014 Annual Meeting for 3-year terms. Dr. Thrasher is a clinical pharmacist with Community Care of the Lower Cape Fear, part of Community Care of North Carolina; Dr. Brouse is the cardiovascular pharmacy clinical coordinator at University of Kentucky Healthcare and an adjunct associate professor at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy; and Dr. MacLaughlin is a professor and interim chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice, at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Pharmacy, and a clinical professor in the departments of Family Medicine and Internal Medicine at the TTUHSC School of Medicine. Gene D. Morse, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, and Denise H. Rhoney, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, FNCS, were each elected to 3-year terms as Research Institute trustees. Dr. Morse is a professor and an associate director of the New York State Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics and Life Sciences at the University at Buffalo, State University of New York. Dr. Rhoney is the Ronald and Nancy McFarlane Distinguished Professor as well as the chair of the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education at the University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy in Chapel Hill.

Dr. Seaton will be installed as president-elect at the 2014 ACCP Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas, and he will assume the presidency the following year. As president, he will serve as chair of the Board of Regents and guide College programs and activities. In an interview with the ACCP Report, Dr. Seaton commented:

I extend my sincere appreciation and gratitude to the ACCP membership for allowing me the honor to serve the College for the next 3 years. I am extremely excited to work with a truly gifted and dedicated cadre of clinical pharmacy leaders and ACCP staff on the Board of Regents. ACCP has been my “home” professional organization throughout my career because I highly value its rich tradition, core ideology, and active membership. There is much to be done to further position our profession to improve patient care quality and safety, and I am convinced that ACCP’s strategic plan will empower our members to make meaningful progress. This is a very important time in the history of our health care delivery system.

Other candidates for office in the 2014 elections were Jacquelyn Bainbridge, Allison Chung, Chris Paap, Robert Parker, Liza Takiya, and Lynda Welage.