American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - July 2019

Hatton Kolpek Chosen ACCP President-Elect

Jimmi Hatton Kolpek, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, FNAP, was chosen as ACCP president-elect in the annual elections held last spring. Hatton Kolpek is currently a professor of pharmacy practice and science at the University of Kentucky with a joint appointment in the College of Medicine. She is a faculty associate with the Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center and vice chair for the institutional review board at Kentucky. Her teaching, research, and clinical practice focuses are in neurologic critical care and critical illness recovery. Hatton Kolpek has served on NIH study sections and the editorial board of Neurocritical Care, A Journal of Acute and Emergency Care. Hatton Kolpek was a pharmacy leader of the University of Kentucky’s Neurosurgical Clinical and Translational Research team, where she collaborated with physician-investigators, pharmacologists, pharmacy residents, medical residents, professional research staff, graduate students, visiting scientists, and pharmacy research fellows. Her responsibilities included serving as principal investigator or coinvestigator in more than 50 clinical trials funded by ACCP, NIH, private foundations, and the pharmaceutical industry. She has written over 140 articles, abstracts, and book chapters. Hatton Kolpek is currently the director of the ACCP Research and Scholarship Academy and serves as a faculty mentor in the MeRIT program. In 2018, her team shared a College of Pharmacy Pillars Enhancement Award for local ACCP Clinical Research Challenge student preparation initiatives. She also served as ACCP Research Institute (now ACCP Foundation) treasurer and chair during her tenure on the Board of Trustees. For ACCP’s Critical Care Self-Assessment Program, Hatton Kolpek has served as faculty chair, contributing author, and reviewer.

In other election results, Larisa Cavallari, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, and Tyree Kiser, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, BCPS, were selected as regents. Cavallari is an associate professor and head of the Division of Translational Research, Department of Pharmacotherapy and Translational Research, and director of the Center for Pharmacogenomics and Precision Medicine at the University of Florida. Kiser is an associate professor at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in Aurora, Colorado. He is also a clinical pharmacy specialist in the medical intensive care unit at the University of Colorado Hospital.

Rob MacLaren, Pharm.D., MPH, FCCP, FCCM, and Kari Olson, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, were each elected to 3-year terms as ACCP Foundation trustees. MacLaren is a professor in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and a clinical pharmacist in the medical intensive care unit at the University of Colorado Hospital. Olson is a clinical pharmacy specialist in pharmacy outcomes research with Kaiser Permanente National Drug Information Services and a clinical associate professor at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Hatton Kolpek will begin her term as president-elect after the 2019 ACCP Annual Meeting in New York, October 26–29, and will assume the presidency the following year. As president, she will serve as chair of the Board of Regents and guide College programs and activities. In an interview with the ACCP Report, she commented:

I am very grateful and humbled by your support in allowing me to join the ACCP leadership team. Serving ACCP as a presidential officer over the next 3 years will provide me an opportunity to give back to an organization and membership responsible for much of my career advancement. Joining the Board of Regents will allow me to become a partner in planning the future of both the College and clinical pharmacy. My goal is to learn from ACCP members throughout this period as we chart a course for sustaining our core values while at the same time adjusting to changing demands of the health care environment. As an organization, we are known for our commitment to exceptional professional standards for practice, education, and scholarship across the care continuum. Building on that diversity while examining our potential impact on underserved, under-represented populations will be a component of my agenda. Positioning ACCP members to navigate the requirements for future success as clinical pharmacy educators, practitioners, and researchers will require open, effective communication and teamwork. I’m excited to participate in this dialogue and committed to leaving behind a legacy of cooperative decision-making and a foundation for continued growth.

Each incoming member of the Board of Regents and the Board of Trustees will be installed at the 2019 ACCP Annual Meeting for 3-year terms. Other candidates for office in the 2019 elections were Varsha Bhatt-Mehta, Kevin Garey, Richard Parrish II, Bradley Phillips, and Kimberly Tallian.

Members of the 2018 Nominations Committee were James Tisdale (chair), Joseph Guglielmo, Stuart Haines (vice chair), Brian Hemstreet (secretary), William Kehoe, Edith Nutescu, and Kayla Stover.