American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - July 2020

New Leadership for Pharmacotherapy Publications, Inc.

Pharmacotherapy Publications, Inc. (PPI), which oversees the publication of ACCP’s official journals, Journal of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (JACCP) and Pharmacotherapy, will undergo a change in leadership after the 2020 ACCP Annual Meeting. Leigh Ann Ross, Pharm.D., current chair of the PPI Board of Directors (BOD), will begin her term as ACCP president-elect and pass the PPI leadership to James E. Tisdale, Pharm.D., past president of the ACCP Board of Regents and current Pharmacotherapy scientific editor.

Over the past 3½ years, Ross has successfully led the PPI BOD through the launch of ACCP’s second official journal (JACCP) and the development and implementation of a new strategic plan. She has collaborated with the Pharmacotherapy editor-in-chief, BOD members, and PPI staff to elevate Pharmacotherapy to its highest impact factor to date. Ross shared:

It has been an honor to serve as Chair of the PPI Board of Directors for the last 3 ½ years. This has been an exciting time for PPI with the launch of a new journal, JACCP, and dedicated work to increase the quality and impact of Pharmacotherapy. The level of commitment demonstrated by all involved with the ACCP journals- the PPI Board, editorial teams, ACCP staff, and members who contribute as authors and reviewers is truly remarkable, and PPI’s recent successes are the product of the dedication and hard work of these individuals. I am thrilled that Dr. Jim Tisdale will serve as the next Chair of the PPI Board. He brings extraordinary talent, experience, and vision to the Board, and I am confident that ACCP journals will achieve many new milestones in coming years under his leadership. I look forward to celebrating PPI’s future successes.

James E. Tisdale is professor of pharmacy practice at Purdue University College of Pharmacy. He has served as a scientific editor for Pharmacotherapy for the past 5 years. Tisdale’s research interests are in the area of cardiovascular pharmacotherapy, focusing on mechanisms, risk factors, and management of drug-induced arrhythmias and drug therapy for preventing and treating atrial fibrillation. Those familiar with the field will recognize him as the founder of the Tisdale Risk Score for QT Prolongation. Tisdale received the Russell R. Miller Award in 2017. He is a past president of ACCP and a Fellow of ACCP, APhA, the National Academies of Practice, the American Heart Association, and the American College of Cardiology. In a recent interview, Tisdale commented:

I am profoundly honored to be appointed Chair of the PPI Board of Directors (BOD). Dr. Leigh Ann Ross has provided superb leadership as Chair of the PPI BOD during the past 3½ years, and hers are big shoes to fill. I am deeply committed to the PPI mission, which is to improve human health through the dissemination of pharmacotherapeutic and clinical pharmacy scholarship. The PPI BOD and the editorial staff, leadership, and boards of Pharmacotherapy and the Journal of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy are supremely committed and talented individuals, and I look forward to working with all of them to continue to advance and disseminate excellent scholarship, deliver value, and enhance PPI publications and services.

The other members of the PPI BOD are Jerry Bauman, Brandon Bookstaver, Lindsay DeVane, Vicki Ellingrod, Michael Maddux, and William Miller.