American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - August 2019

Smith to Receive Honorary ACCP Fellow Recognition in New York

The ACCP Board of Regents has voted to recognize founding ACCP member Dorothy Smith as an honorary ACCP Fellow (FCCP) during the Awards and Recognition Ceremony at the 2019 ACCP Annual Meeting on Sunday, October 27.

Since helping to establish the College in 1979 as its only female funding member, Smith has distinguished herself as an internationally known pharmacist, consumer advocate, author, and educator. A leader in patient education and safe medication throughout her career, she has written over 120 papers and more than 20 books. Her professional focus has been the translation of complex medical terminology into language that consumers can better comprehend. Smith serves as CEO of Consumer Health Information Corporation, a company she founded in 1983 that has developed more than 4000 evidence-based patient education programs about medications, disease, and devices.

Smith will be at the Awards and Recognition Ceremony to accept the honorary FCCP recognition. She joins Harvey A.K. Whitney Jr, Charles A. Walton, Lawrence C. Weaver, C. Edwin Webb, and Robert A. Uzzo as one of only six individuals who have been so honored by ACCP.