American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - September 2019

ACCP Foundation Congratulates the 2019 Foundation Futures Grants Awardees

ACCP Foundation

The ACCP Foundation Frontiers Fund is earmarked to support researchers, scholars, and practitioners and to promote research and scholarship to practitioners, trainees, and students. Through the Foundation’s Futures Grants program, the Board of Trustees is especially interested in supporting the development of research skills among student, trainee, and early-career ACCP members with a goal of establishing sustained interest and careers in pharmacy research.

This year, the ACCP Foundation received 37 applications for its mentored research funding program. Each application was reviewed by an expert panel according to the program’s core review criteria. The ACCP Foundation congratulates the 2019 Futures Grants program awardees. All award recipients will be recognized during the Awards and Recognition Ceremony on Sunday, October 27, during the upcoming ACCP Annual Meeting in New York.

Junior Investigator Awards:

  • Leo F. Buckley, Pharm.D., Brigham and Women’s Hospital – Precision Pharmacologic Inhibition of NLRP3 Inflammasome Activity in Experimental Uremic Cardiomyopathy. Mentor: Peter Libby, M.D.
  • Razieh Kebriaei, Ph.D., M.Sc., Wayne State University – A Novel Approach for Combating Medical Device Associated Biofilm Infections of MRSA. Mentor: Michael Rybak, Pharm.D., MPH, Ph.D., FCCP, FIDP, FIDSA

Student/Resident Awards:

  • Andrew Jatis, Pharm.D. Candidate, University of Iowa College of Pharmacy – Exploration of Prohibitin-1 as a Novel Therapeutic in Glucose Homeostasis and Insulin Signaling. Mentor: Ethan Anderson, Ph.D.
  • Lusi Zhang, MHI, Pharm.D. Candidate, University of Minnesota – Polygenic Risk for Cardiovascular Diseases, Cardiovascular Medication Burden and Cognitive Performance in Patients with Psychotic Disorders. Mentor: Jeffrey Bishop, Pharm.D., M.S., FCCP, BCPP

The ACCP Foundation Board of Trustees and staff would also like to express their sincere gratitude to the expert reviewers who served on the Junior Investigator and Student/Resident award review committees. Members of the Junior Investigator Award Review Committee were Erin Barreto, Philip Chung, Mariann Churchwell (chair), Alexander Flannery, Jeffrey Fong, Abir Kanaan, Craig Lee, Jeannine McCune, Ian McGrane, Pamela Moye-Dickerson, Keith Olsen, Kimberly Scarsi, Jason Schaefer, and Michael Ujhelyi. Members of the Student/Resident Award Review Committee were Paul Gubbins (chair), Kirollos Hanna, Jason Karnes, Qing Ma, Courtney Mospan, Emma Tillman, Adrian Wong, and Eric Wright.

For more information about the Futures Grants program, please visit the ACCP Foundation website. The next request for applications will open May 15, 2020 and the deadline for submission is September 1, 2020.