American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - November 2019

ACCP Recognizes Founding Members During Annual Meeting in New York

ACCP celebrated its 40th anniversary at the 2019 Annual Meeting in New York City. Founding members were recognized with a standing ovation on Sunday, October 27, during the ACCP Awards and Recognition Ceremony, and also at the October 25 Fellows Dinner.

Founding members in attendance at the Annual Meeting are pictured (back row from left): J. Heyward Hull, Peter H. Vlasses, Joel O. Covinsky, Dennis K. Helling, William A. Miller, and Leslie Hendeles; (front row from left): Gary M. Oderda, Glen L. Stimmel, Kim L. Kelly, William E. Evans, Dorothy L. Smith, and Donald C. McLeod.

ACCP was founded in 1979 by 29 standout leaders who realized the need to champion the advancement and advocacy of clinical pharmacy. These 29 not only served as the founding members, but were also THE members – consisting of the entirety of ACCP’s membership in 1979. From the College’s humble beginnings grew a diverse group consisting of over 17,000 members today, including researchers, educators, practitioners, administrators, students, residents, and fellows, among many others. ACCP has become one of the most influential pharmacy organizations in the United States, but without its founding members’ unwavering vision, the College would not be the organization that it is today.

The College’s 29 founding members:

  • Arthur Burke
  • James H. Coleman
  • Joel O. Covinsky
  • William E. Evans
  • Lawrence Fleckenstein
  • Thomas S. Foster
  • John G. Gambertoglio
  • Philip D. Hansten
  • Dennis K. Helling
  • Leslie Hendeles
  • J. Heyward Hull
  • William J. Jusko
  • Kim L. Kelly
  • Thomas M. Ludden
  • Donald C. McLeod
  • William A. Miller
  • Gary M. Oderda
  • Ronald E. Polk
  • Robert P. Rapp
  • John Rodman
  • Vasilios A. Skoutakis
  • Dorothy L. Smith
  • Ronald B. Stewart
  • Glen L. Stimmel
  • Eppo van der Kleijn
  • Peter H. Vlasses
  • Charles A. Walton
  • Harvey A.K. Whitney Jr.
  • Darwin Zaske