American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart
PRN Report


Clinical Pharmacy Challenge

ACCP Clinical Pharmacy Challenge: The Pursuit of Excellence Continues

Now in its second decade of excellence, the ACCP Clinical Pharmacy Challenge returns in 2022. From an initial field of 114 teams, eight have advanced to compete in the quarterfinal rounds. Please join ACCP in recognizing the effort and academic excellence achieved by the 2022 Clinical Pharmacy Challenge quarterfinalists:

  • Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy
  • Belmont University College of Pharmacy
  • Manchester University College of Pharmacy, Natural and Health Sciences
  • Southern Illinois University Edwardsville School of Pharmacy
  • University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy
  • University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy
  • University of Toledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy


2022 ACCP Clinical Pharmacy Challenge Remaining Schedule

ACCP is excited to bring the return of live round competition at the 2022 ACCP Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy in San Francisco. Please join us for all the action at the upcoming meeting.

  • October 15, 2022        Quarterfinal Round
  • October 16, 2022        Semifinal Round
  • October 17, 2022        Final Round


Travel Awards Promote Student and Resident/Fellow Meeting Attendance

ACCP started its Student and Resident/Fellow Travel Awards programs to support and encourage student, resident, and fellow attendance at ACCP national meetings as well as to expand opportunities for students and postgraduate trainees throughout the organization. To date, ACCP has awarded more than $95,000 in travel stipends and complimentary meeting registrations. In addition, many PRNs now offer their own travel awards for students, residents, and fellows, providing even more opportunities for attendees to apply for funding to help defray the costs associated with attending the ACCP Annual Meeting.

ACCP thanks the following PRNs and chapters for either donating funds to the ACCP Travel Awards programs or sponsoring their own travel awards:

  • Adult Medicine PRN
  • Ambulatory Care PRN
  • Cardiology PRN
  • Clinical Administration PRN
  • Critical Care PRN
  • Drug Information PRN
  • Education and Training PRN
  • Endocrine and Metabolism PRN
  • Geriatrics PRN
  • GI/Liver/Nutrition PRN
  • Health Outcomes PRN
  • Hematology/Oncology PRN
  • Immunology/Transplantation PRN
  • Infectious Diseases PRN
  • Nephrology PRN
  • Pain and Palliative Care PRN
  • Pediatrics PRN
  • Perioperative Care PRN
  • Pulmonary PRN
  • Women’s Health PRN


2022–2023 National Student Network Advisory Committee Appointed

Earlier this year, ACCP issued a call for applications to student members interested in serving on the SNAC. The College received applications from students across the country. After reviewing these applications, ACCP President-Elect Elizabeth Farrington selected student members for appointment. The committee will convene during the upcoming 2022 ACCP Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy in October.

ACCP is pleased to announce the appointment of the following student members to the 2022–2023 SNAC.

  • Chair: Stormmy Boettcher, University of Arizona College of Pharmacy
  • Vice Chair: Kaely Miller, High Point University Fred Wilson School of Pharmacy
  • Secretary: Kimberly Gollhofer, University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Pharmacy


  • Kayla Cann, Purdue University College of Pharmacy
  • Christina Cheng, University at Buffalo The State University of New York School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Kevin Cheng, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy
  • Timothy Glenn, Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy
  • Marion Javellana, Mercer University College of Pharmacy
  • Zachary Krauss, Cedarville University School of Pharmacy
  • Madeline Kravitz, University of Saint Joseph School of Pharmacy and Physician Assistant Studies
  • Anthony Makashov, University of Rhode Island College of Pharmacy
  • Eric Pham, University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy


ACCP Student Chapter Award Announced

This award recognizes the ACCP student chapter that has best exemplified strength in leadership, dedication in patient care, and passion for professional development through its activities and membership. The chapter’s activities should address ACCP’s core values of extending the frontiers of clinical pharmacy and promoting dedication to excellence in patient care, research, and education. A key component of each core value is the clinical pharmacist’s ability to work collaboratively within the health care environment. Each chapter must demonstrate its ability to work with other health disciplines. Please join ACCP in congratulating this year’s Outstanding Student Chapter Award winner, the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. ACCP will present the officers representing the University of Toledo with their Outstanding Chapter plaque and a $1000 award during the Awards session at the 2022 ACCP Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy.


ACCP Clinical Research Challenge – Winning Teams to Present Virtual Posters at ACCP Global Conference

Clinical Research Challenge

Competition in the 2022 ACCP Clinical Research Challenge (CRC) began February 14 with 82 teams vying for a spot in round 2: Letter of Intent (LOI) Submission. Teams achieving the top 40 scores after the initial online Journal Club round submitted an LOI. Teams achieving the top 20 scores after round 2 were invited to compete in round 3: Research Protocol Development. Teams in round 3 were tasked with developing a research proposal to demonstrate the value of clinical pharmacy–led services and/or initiatives to address health disparities and improve health outcomes among underserved or underresourced populations. Teams were provided a specific research environment in which to formulate their proposals.

Proposals were reviewed by the CRC Review Panel, and submissions ranking in the top one-third were referred for evaluation and selection of awards by the CRC Oversight Panel. Please join ACCP in congratulating the award winners.


2022 ACCP Clinical Research Challenge Award Winners

Championship Team: Oregon State University College of Pharmacy

  • Proposal Title: A Pharmacist-Led Intervention in Improving Adherence and Treatment Success in Chronic Hepatitis C
  • Student Team Members: Jason Srey, Trisha Villanueva, Bryan Le
  • Faculty Liaison: Adriane Irwin, Pharm.D.

Second-Place Team: University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy

  • Proposal Title: Impact of a Clinical Pharmacy-Community Health Worker Paired Program on Blood Pressure Control in Migrant Agricultural Workers with Hypertension: A Randomized Trial
  • Student Team Members: Molly Csere, Kelly Carucci, Anagha Gogate
  • Faculty Liaison: William Baker, Pharm.D., FCCP, FACC, FAHA, FHFSA

Third-Place Team: Cedarville University School of Pharmacy

  • Proposal Title: Impact of Community Health Workers and Motivational Interviewing on Diabetes Outcomes for the Low English Proficiency Hispanic Population
  • Student Team Members: Nyugen Nyugen, Grace Hong, Caleb Yoder
  • Faculty Liaison: Stephanie Tubb, Pharm.D.

These three teams have been invited to present their research design during the Scientific Poster Sessions at the 2022 ACCP Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy in October.