American College of Clinical Pharmacy
      Search      Cart

ACCP Report - September 2018

Congratulations to the 2018 Futures Grants Awardees

This year, 64 applications for support of investigator-initiated research funding by the Futures Grants program were received. After an expert panel review of each application according to the program’s review criteria, five were selected for funding. All award recipients will be recognized during the Awards and Recognition Ceremony on Sunday, October 21, during the upcoming ACCP Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy, October 20–23, in Seattle, Washington.

Junior Investigator Awards:

Daniel J. Crona, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

Daniel J. Crona, Pharm.D., Ph.D., CPP, University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy – A Prospective Multi-dose Study of Apixaban in Nephrotic Syndrome Patients. Mentor: Nigel S. Key, M.B., Ch.B., FRCP.

Jasmine Luzum, PharmD, PhD, BCPS

Jasmine Luzum, Pharm.D., Ph.D., BCPS, University of Michigan College of Pharmacy – Precision Medicine for Heart Failure: The Role of Genomics in the Efficacy and Racial Disparity of Cornerstone Pharmacotherapy. Mentor: David E. Lanfear, M.D., M.S., FACC, FAHA, FHFSA.

Student/Resident Awards:

Matthew S. Duprey, PharmD

Matthew S. Duprey, Pharm.D., Ph.D. Candidate, Bouvé College of Health Sciences, Northeastern University – Association Between Opioids and Delirium in Critically Ill Adults. Mentor: John W. Devlin, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM.

Omar Perez, Ph.D.

Omar Perez, Ph.D., Pharm.D. Candidate, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy – Treatment Strategies for Ceftazidime-Avibactam Resistant KPC-Producing K. pneumoniae. Mentor: Zackery P. Bulman, Pharm.D.

Anh Tan Truong

Anh Tan Truong, Pharm.D., Ph.D. Candidate, University of Southern California School of Pharmacy – Thermo-responsive Estrogen Receptor-fusions for Spatiotemporal Control of Signaling and Gene Regulation. Mentor: J. Andrew MacKay, Ph.D.

Members of the Junior Investigator Award Review Committee were Debra Barnette, Erin Frazee Barreto, Kyle Burghardt, Mariann Churchwell, Jeffrey Fong, Ajna Hamidovic (chair), Kirollos Hanna, J. Kevin Hicks, Jason Karnes, Roger D. Lander, David E. Martin, Jeannine McCune, Melanie Nicol, Brian Overholser, Pamala A. Pawloski, Diana Sobieraj, Erica Titus-Lay, and Michael Ujhelyi. Members of the Student/Resident Award Review Committee were Jennifer L. Cole, Kristine R. Crews, Thomas Dowling, Allison Hein, J. Kevin Hicks, Qing Ma, Keith Olsen, and Meghana Trivedi (chair).

For more information about the Futures Grants program, please click here. The next request for applications will open January 15, 2019.